School and Gymnasium BlockTent Chapel and School, Circa 1899 Tent Chapel and School, circa 1899
When Mormon settlers came to Mesquite Flats in 1894, they designated the southeast corner of
this block as the Public Square. It was a place where the community gathered for many events.
At this site a tent was set up circa 1899 for use as a chapel and a school. It was 16' x 16' with no
windows, no heat, a dirt floor, and only logs to sit on.
The Bock School, so-named because it was made of cement block
had four classrooms and an auditorium. It stood on the southeast
corner of the block unti it was replaced with a new campus in the
1960's. The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints rented the
schoolhouse for meetings and fatherins for several years.
This red brick gymnasium was built adjacent to the Block School and
became the center of recreation for the community. The gymnasium
was placed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1992. It
represents Italian Renaissance Revivall style architecture. Construction
of the gymnasium was funded through the federal Public Works
Administration (PWA) program.